Charitable status

The University of Manchester鈥檚 status as an exempt charity (exemption number: XR82062) is derived from the Charities Act 2011. We are responsible to the Office for Students, which is charged, as our principal regulator, with monitoring our compliance with charity law obligations.

The University is aware of its responsibilities as a charity to act for the public benefit and has had due regard to the Charity Commission’s public benefit guidance. The objects of the University, as set out in the Royal Charter awarded in 2004, are “to advance education, knowledge and wisdom by research, scholarship, learning and teaching, for the benefit of individuals and society at large".

  •  for the year ended July 2022 (PDF document, 1.9MB) for further information on how the University fulfils its public benefit responsibilities.

Corporate documents

Download the  (PDF document, 21KB) or visit our corporate documents page to download our full financial statements, up to and including the year ended 31 July 2022.

Trustees of the University

The trustees of the University as of 1 September 2023 were as follows:

Category 1, ex officio members (2) 

  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell, DBE, DL, BSc, PhD, DSc, FRS, FMedSci, FRSB, FRCP (Hon), FRSA – President and Vice-Chancellor
  • Samantha Bronheim, Union Affairs Officer of the Students' Union

Category 2, lay members (13) 

  • Phillippa Hird (2025) – Chair
  • Ann Barnes, BA (Hons), Diploma IHM (2023) – Deputy Chair
  • David Buckley (2025)
  • Gary Buxton, MBE, BA (Hons) MIoD (2024)
  • Anna Dawe (2025)
  • Deirdre Evans, BA (Hons), ACMA (2023)
  • Nick Hillman, MA (2025)
  • Caroline Johnstone, BA, CA (2023)
  • Jatin Patel, MEng BA (Hons) (2024)
  • Robin Phillips, BA (Hons) (2025)
  • Alice Webb, M.Eng, Hon DA (2024)

Associate member

  • Natasha Traynor (2023)

Category 3, members of the Senate (6) 

  • Professor Daniela Caselli (2025)
  • Professor Danielle George, MBE, PhD (2022)
  • Dr Reinmar Hager, MSc, PhD (2023)
  • Dr Eric Lybeck (2024)
  • Professor Paul Mativenga, PhD, MSc, BEng Hons, FRSA (2024)
  • Professor Jim Warwicker, BSc, PhD (2023)

Category 4, members of staff other than academic or research staff (1) 

  • Rosalyn Webster (2023)

Category 5, student member (1) 

  • Tesnime Safraou, City and Community Officer, The University of Manchester Students' Union

The following members of the Board of Governors have declared trusteeships as follows:

Samantha Bronheim

Trustee Board Chair, The University of Manchester Students' Union

Anna Dawe

Trustee, Wigan Foundation for Technical Education

Professor Danielle George Trustee, The Institution of Engineering and Technology 
Nick Hillman Trustee, Nfer
Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell Trustee, UK Biobank Limited
Alice Webb Trustee of the Royal Foundation of the Prince and Princess of Wales
Rosalyn Webster Trustee, Burnage Academy for Boys

Contact us

The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
M13 9PL